Anyone remember the Shel Silverstein poem of the same title? I always loved Shel Silverstein. 

 

Moving on, want to know how to grow the perfect basil?

1. Know absolutely nothing about growing basil or about gardening in general. 

2. See number one. 

My basil, which started out in a small pot in my kitchen before being transferred to first one planting bed and then eventually moved to a different one to make more space for other plants, is like the Andre the Giant of household herbs. It’s enormous. It has taken over my small, understated garden. These are no longer simple basil plants. These are basil trees. 

IMG_5142

Now that the weather is turning cold and I would probably need a separate room in my house to move these plants back inside come winter, I really need to get rid of some of my basil, or risk wasting it altogether. 

IMG_5143

If you live in or around our neighborhood and want some basil for a very cheap price (let’s say $1 each for a sizable bundle) shoot me an email at pattersonparklife@gmail.com. I’d be happy to drop it off if you don’t have the time or energy to pick it up. I can even include a recipe for some really delicious pesto that I got from my mother-in-law. 

It’s really top tasting basil. Some of the leaves are nearly the size of my hand! 

IMG_5146

